Faction systems

Hey there,
I’m currently planning an open table OSR game and am enthralled with the idea of giving the players (limited) control over a faction.
I’m looking for systems that I could lift/adapt for this.
I already know Godbound, ACK and Echo Resounding. Godbound is close to the level of complexity I am going for but seems a little too focused on high power shenanigans for my intended use. ACK and Echo are too fiddly.
Do you know other systems that could work for this?

I asked for something similar recently, maybe the thread can help: Examples of good faction (information) design?

1 Like

I wrote a post up on this a couple months back for The Gauntlet Blog:

That has some ideas as well as the actionable system I used for my 13th Age campaign.

1 Like

I started playing around with a generic faction template to try to find what’s at the heart of a “faction” before mechanizing it. Once I got this far I started to wonder if it needs more mechanizing at all.

Thanks for your suggestions :slightly_smiling_face:. I think I will try to hack the Freebooters follower rules into something that will work for me. But I am open to more suggestions!

I’m not 100% sure (because I haven’t played the game), but Remember Tomorrow may have some interesting technology for you to steal. (It’s a GMless cyberpunk game with a bunch of factions making moves across the urban landscape.)

Of course, Stars Without Number has a faction system you may be able to exploit.

And, finally, Blades in the Dark should have some good stuff for you to borrow, as well!

I’d definitely take a look at those games, and pilfer some tools.

1 Like

REIGN: Enchiridion has a really fascinating faction system that overlays rather nicely onto many traditional games. It’s simple, and designed to depend on player and player character activity rather than just working quietly off-screen.