The Roleplaying Path: From Novice to Expert in 5 RPGs

Hi all,

I’m new here so, please, forgive me if something similar has already been asked before. :wink:

I was wondering which are, in your opinion, the 5 tabletop RPGs that you would use to transform a bunch of complete novices into a functional gaming group and why would you include each one of them.

So, imagine that someone ask you to run five 3h-sessions for him/her and his/her 3-4 friends. None of them have ever played an RPG before and they want to get a general idea of what this hobby of yours is all about.

They also want to end up being an autonomous gaming group after the experience, capable of picking-up any RPG of their choice and using it in their next session without external help.

Finally, you can assume that they are creative and open-minded but you can expect they to be a little bit shy in their first sessions too.

Bonus points if the first RPG of your list can be played, with little or no equipment/preparation, 5 minutes after they make that petition to you.

8 Likes

in order of play -

1-Honey Heist / Witch is Dead by Grant Howitt. One shots but easy on ramp.
2-Monster of the Week - easy to relate to, easy to play and run.
3-Dungeon World - plenty of tv/movie tropes to relate too.
4-Macchiato Monsters - good balance of detail and room to move.
5-Urban Shadows - balance cooperation and competitiveness.

9 Likes

Thanks for answering.

I didn’t know Macchiato Monsters, it’s OSR, right? Could you elaborate about why did you choose this one rather than any other OSR representative?

2 Likes

yeah its OSR

you can create a character in 10-15 minutes in macchiato monsters, some of the older osr games take way longer, and that makes even experienced players lose interest

there are gear and monster lists in the game, but you can easily use them as a guide and ad more.